The Herwig Event Generator

Herwig is a multi-purpose particle physics event generator.

It is built based on the experience gained with both the HERWIG 6 and Herwig++ 2 event generators. Continuing the Herwig++ 2 development, Herwig 7.0 (Herwig++ 3.0) replaces any prior HERWIG or Herwig++ versions.

Herwig provides significantly improved and extended physics capabilities when compared to both its predecessors, HERWIG 6 and Herwig++ 2, while keeping the key model motivations such as coherent parton showers (including angular-ordered and dipole-based evolution), the cluster hadronization model, an eikonal multiple-interaction model, highly flexible BSM capabilities and improved perturbative input using next-to-leading order QCD.

Download and Installation

The current version is Herwig 7.3.0, and is based on ThePEG 2.3.0

For installation we recommend to use our bootstrap script which is available here. See the tutorials for detailed installation instructions.


Installing and using the current version is extensively covered in the tutorials. A detailed manual covering all physics developments since Herwig++ 2 is in preparation.

The detailed Herwig++ 2 manual is arXiv:0803.0883. When using Herwig 7, please cite this manual along with the Herwig 7 release note (Eur.Phys.J. C76 (2016) no.4, 196) until the main Herwig 7 manual is available. The release note describes the new features of the latest version, 7.3.


Any questions or comments should be directed to

To receive email updates about new releases, please send a blank message to

Herwig authors

Herwig is a collaborative effort and is developed by:

Gavin Bewick 1, Silvia Ferrario Ravasio 2, Stefan Gieseke 3, Stefan Kiebacher 3, Aidin Masouminia 1, Andreas Papaefstathiou 4, Simon Plätzer 5, Peter Richardson 1, Daniel Samitz 6, Michael H. Seymour 7, Andrzej Siódmok 8 and James Whitehead 9

Former authors are:

Ken Arnold, Manuel Bähr, Johannes Bellm, Luca d’Errico, Martyn Gigg, David Grellscheid, Keith Hamilton, Patrick Kirchgaeßer, Seyi Latunde-Dada, Frasher Loshaj, Graeme Nail, Radek Podskubka, Michael Rauch, Alberto Ribon, Christian Reuschle, Christian Röhr, Pavel Růžička, Peter Schichtel, Alex Schofield, Thomas Schuh, Alexander Sherstnev, Philip Stephens, Martin Stoll, Louise Suter, Jon Tully, Bryan Webber, Stephen Webster, Alix Wilcock, David Winn, Benedikt Zimmermann.

Former contributors are:

Nadine Fischer, Marco Harrendorf, Daniel Rauch.

Herwig Talks and Publications

Some of the recent Herwig developments are covered in several talks and publications listed below.



  1. IPPP, Department of Physics, Durham University,
  2. CERN, Theoretical Physics Department, Geneva,
  3. Institute for Theoretical Physics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  4. Department of Physics, Kennesaw State University, 830 Polytechnic Lane, Marietta, GA 30060, USA,
  5. Theoretical Physics, NAWI Graz, University of Graz and Particle Physics, Faculty of Physics, University of Vienna,
  6. Stefan Meyer Institute for Subatomic Physics, Austrian Academy of Sciences, 1010 Wien, Austria,
  7. Particle Physics Group, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Manchester,
  8. Jagiellonian University, ul. prof. Stanislawa Lojasiewicza 11, 30-348 Kraków, Poland,
  9. The Henryk Niewodniczański Institute of Nuclear Physics in Cracow, Polish Academy of Sciences.